Friday, November 4, 2011

How to remove Shellac Nail Polish

This is a very common question about shellac.  If you’re like me when I first started to get shellac done, you might think nail polish remover and a few cotton balls will do the trick.  Uhm.  But unfortunately that won’t do it.

To remove shellac here is what you need:
  • 100% acetone
  • 8-10 cotton balls
  • 10 pieces of foil (big enough o wrap around each finger)
How to remove shellac, step by step:

1.    Have all this ready before you start
2.    Dip cotton balls into acetone
3.    Place the soaked cotton ball on top of your finger nail
4.    Wrap around with foil
5.    Repeat on rest of the finger nails
6.    Let soak for 10 minutes
7.    Scrape of with something similar to a nail file (the metal one)
8.    Clean up each finger nail with cotton ball and file if necessary

That should do it. :)

Saturday, October 23, 2010

I love Shellac so far!

So I finally found a nail shop close by that does shellac nails and that has great reviews.  I gotta say I am amazed with the results so far.  It hasn't been long only three days but still.  I've done my normal routine housework and my nails still look like they did on the day I had them done.  No nicks - nothing.  Simply incredible. 

Here is a picture of my nails on day 1. 

 I will post more pictures on day 7 and day 14 and so on. 

The nail tech that did my nails was very knowledgeable about shellac nails.  He said that preparation is the most important.  It took him about 30 minutes and he really took his time.

If you have your own nails but the regular nail polish doesn't stay long, you have to give Shellac a try!

Thursday, October 7, 2010

Shellac Nails | Shellac Polish - Manicure for natural nails

Shellac Strawberry Smoothie .25 oz. 
While having my daughters birthday party a friend of mine shared with me about a new product called Shellac.  She always had great looking natural nails and would occasionally get a manicure but I noticed this time that her nails just looked fabulous.  I was so surprised when she said that she had her manicure done a month ago!  Her nails looked awesome, only thing I could notice is how it grew out a bit but otherwise her nails looked so shine and didn't have not even one chip.

Apparently, CND Shellac is a new product that just came out in May of this year.  

I finally found a nail salon near by (the place she did her shellac nails at is a bit far for me) and I will be booking an appointment and reviewing the product.

I am so super excited.  I cook, clean, have a toddler to run after so my manicures don't last (even with a double top coat) so I am so looking forward to trying out the shellac nail polish.  So far, I've heard nothing but great things about it.  

I will be posting a review soon and pictures! :)

If you've had shellac nail polish done, I'd be more than happy to hear what your experience has been like!

Thursday, May 27, 2010

Vincent Longo Canvas

Vincent Longo Canvas

Vincent Longo Water Canvas Creme-To-Powder Foundation, Bisque .4 oz (11.5 g) 
This is a great foundation for someone who want coverage for the whole day.

Extremely easy to apply
Goes on very smoothly
Good Pigmentation
Long lasting

Not a whole lot of coverage
A bit pricey

Overall, Vincent Longo Canvas is an okay foundation.  Its good for someone who wants a foundation that looks as natural as possible who doesn't need a whole lot of coverage.  But if you're someone who may want a lot of coverage from a foundation, then Vincent Longo Canvas may not be the right option for you. 

Vincent Longo Canvas is available for purchase at Amazon currently for $57.

Wednesday, May 26, 2010

Vincent Longo Lipstick

Vincent Longo lipstick | Vincent Longo lip

Vincent Longo Lipstick, Vincent Longo Lip stain 
I am not a huge fan of lipsticks, I much more prefer lip glosses but I gave this one a try.  I think its very nice taking in consideration that in the past I always had an impression of lipsticks making your lips very dry.  Vincent Longo Lipstick didn't do that.  Some pros and cons below.

Nice natural looking color
Pleasant taste

Doesn't last long, have to keep applying it through out the day. 

If you've tried this lipstick, what was your experience with it?

Monday, May 24, 2010

Tarte Cheek Stain

HTML clipboardtarte cheek stain cheek color, Flush 1 oz (28.4 g) 
I saw an ad for that product in Allure Magazine and decided to give it a try. The packaging is pretty and nice amount of makeup comes when you press it. Not like some commodities Globs Globs incentives. It is very smooth and there are no scratches at all. The only con I noticed while using it - I think if someone has more to cover, it can not have a lot more coverage. It works well for me because my skin is very clear. It keeps the skin very moisturizing and has worked well in the humidity!

Sunday, May 23, 2010

Almay Pure Blends Review

Almay Pure Blends Liquid Makeup - Natural 
I bought this make up simply because it was on sale at a local store (it was $3.99) so I figured what the heck.  Three bucks more or less.  It alright. I've been using it for a couple months now and here is what I think:

  • Easy to apply
  • Stays on for a while
  • 97.4% natural
  • Great price
  • My skin is oily and it seems like this particular one doesn't really help control that
  • The particular color that I got is 'buff chamois' and although my skin is pretty pale, this color made me look even more pale (but thats where the blush has been helping me - thankfully).
I will just finish it but will probably go back to the Neutrogena one I've been using before.  I'll have to find an empty bottle somewhere in the house so I can remember the exact name of it so I can write a review for it. :)

Overall, I'd give Almay Pure Blends a 3 out of 5.

The lowest price I saw it going for online is $6.99 at Amazon.

About me

My name is Anita and I am from Castro Valley, CA. I have a big passion for make up (I guess I can consider myself a makeup junkie). Over the last couple years I found myself reviewing a lot of items (mostly beauty and baby products) and saw that a lot of people found those useful. So I figured why not create a blog and review all the items I have in my attic box that I've used over the years. Some totally emptied out, some half empty and some literally brand new (you probably know why too!). I will then continue to review the products as I experience them. I am totally open to hearing others experiences with the products as I strongly believe that not everyone will have the same exact experience. What may work well for me, may not work well for everyone.

All of my reviews are my opinion only. Some products may work well for me but not for everyone. I am as honest as I can be when writing a review. If there are negatives I will tell them, but if the product is so good, then it may be hard for me not to rave about it. :(

Ella's Mommy Makeup Reviews Copyright © 2009 Cosmetic Girl Designed by Ipietoon | In Collaboration with FIFA
Girl Illustration Copyrighted to Dapino Colada